SoHP Organization

The School of Health Professions (SoHP) is one of five colleges at SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University. The other colleges are the College of Medicine, College of Nursing, School of Graduate Studies, and the School of Public Health.

In the School of Health Professions, the Dean has overall responsibility for the operation of the College. The Assistant Dean assists the Dean in the daily administration of the College and in coordinating student activities such as SoHP council and the yearbook. In addition, individuals responsible for finance and clinical affiliations coordinate these activities for the Dean. Two Associate Deans have responsibility for program development and strategic initiatives for the college.

The College offers six professional health related programs:

  • Diagnostic Medical Imaging (BS degree)
  • Health Informatics (MS degree)
  • Midwifery (Advanced Certificate and MS degrees)
  • Occupational Therapy (MS degree)
  • Physical Therapy (BS/DPT degree)
  • Physician Assistant (MS degree)

Each program is led by a program chairperson and students are taught by faculty with experience and credentials in the specific health profession.

SoHP Bulletin (Course Catalog)

School of Health Professions Bulletin for 2021 - 2026 »

Bulletin cover

SoHP Strategic Plan

School of Health Professions Strategic Plan »

Strategic Plan Cover

Student Handbook 2020-2021

SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University 2021-2022 Student Handbook »

Student Handbook 2021-2022


  • Allen Lewis, PhD, CRC
    Dean and Professor
  • Shushawna DeOliveira, DHA
    Associate Dean of Program Operations and Quality, Assistant Professor
  • Brigitte Desport, DPS, ATP, OTR/L
    Associate Dean of Strategic Initiatives, Assistant Professor, Occupational Therapy Program
  • Phillip Bones, M.Ed
    Assistant Dean


  • Diagnostic Medical Imaging Sonography
    Yosefa Pessin, DHSc, RDMS, RDCS, RVT
    Program Chair
  • Medical Informatics
    Mohammad Faysel, PhD
    Program Chair
  • Midwifery Education
    Ronnie Lichtman, CNM, LM, PhD, FACNM
    Program Chair
  • Occupational Therapy
    Efekona Nuwere, Ed.D, OTR/L
    Program Chair 
  • Physician Assistant
    Andrea Trimmingham, MA, PA-C
    Program Chair
  • Physical Therapy
    Joanne S. Katz, PT, DPT, PhD
    Program Chair


  • Student Council
  • Admissions and Academic Standing Committee
  • Faculty and Professional Staff Assembly
    • Academic Policy Committee
    • By-Laws Committee
    • Committee of the Faculty
    • Committee on Academic & Professional Qualifications
    • Curriculum Committee
    • Program Development Committee