Menu

Our Fellows

Over the past decade, 59% of our fellows have been women and 76% belonged to an under-represented minority. Our fellows have a keen interest in caring for an underserved population. Over 90% of our fellows who have completed fellowship training at SUNY Downstate are board-certified in Infectious Diseases. Nearly two thirds of our graduates have positions at academic medical centers. Our graduating fellows have achieved careers in academic medicine, public health, and hospital leadership. While 38% of our graduates have stayed in the NY-NJ (including academic positions at SUNY Downstate, Kings County Medical Center, Northwell Health, Montefiore Medical Center, Westchester County Medical Center, and Bronx-Lebanon Hospital System), others have pursued careers in Philadelphia and major metropolitan centers in California, Texas, and Oklahoma.

ID Fellowship Graduation

Current First-Year Fellows

Saif Aslam, MD

e-mail: Saif Aslam@downstate.edu 
Education: St. George's University
Residency: The Brooklyn Hospital Center

Habtamu Asrat, MD

e-mail: Habtamu.Asrat@downstate.edu 
Education: Gondar College of Medicine and Health Sciences
Residency: St. Francis Hospital, Evanstan, Ill.

Anna Maro, MD

e-mail: anna.maro@downstate.edu 
Education: St. George's University
Residency: Drexel University College of Medicine

Jevon Samaroo-Campbell, MD

e-mail: Jevon.samaroo-campbell@downstate.edu
Education: St. George's University
Residency: Maimonides Medical Center

 

Current Second-Year Fellows

Khayala Balabayova, MD

e-mail: Khayala.Balabayova@downstate.edu
Education: Azerbaijan Medical University, Baku, Azerbaijan
Residency: Richmond University Medical Center

Aanchal Gupta, MD

e-mail: Aanchal.Gupta@downstate.edu
Education: Dayanand Medical College, India
Residency: Steward Carney Hospital, Dorchester, MA

Avneet Kaur, MD

e-mail: Avneet.Kaur@downstate.edu
Education: Ross University, Dominica
Residency: University of Maryland Capitol Regional Health, Cheverly, MD