Annual Dr. Dale Blackstock Awards Honors SUNY Downstate’s Best

By Office of the President | Mar 20, 2023

Blackstock Awards poster

For the past five years, during Women’s History Month, SUNY Downstate has honored groups of phenomenal women at Downstate who have continued the legacy of service, celebrating the life of Dr. Dale Blackstock.

Dr. Blackstock, a native of Brooklyn earned an undergraduate degree in Biology at Brooklyn College and her medical degree from Harvard Medical School, thanks in part to strong mentors who helped guide her. After completing her residency and fellowship training, Dr. Blackstock’s first job was at Downstate/Kings County, where she served for many years in the Department of Internal Medicine and Division of Nephrology.  

Dr. Blackstock was passionate about providing clinical care to the community she loved. She was an educator and a strong patient advocate. She also gave back by mentoring many students and faculty, especially young African-American women. One of those individuals was Dr. Carla Boutin-Foster, now Downstate’s Associate Vice President of Institutional Equity. Her family and those whose lives she touched are determined to carry on Dr. Blackstock’s legacy.  

The event’s keynote speech, “Women and Health Equity,” was delivered by Anika Daniels-Osaze, Ed.D., MPH, Associate Dean for Education in the School of Public Health and a Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management.

The Fifth Annual Dr. Dale Blackstock Award Ceremony honored 16 women in four recognition categories: the Dr. Dale Blackstock Award, Excellence in Faculty Service, Diversity Champions, and Outstanding Service.

I extend my gratitude and congratulations to this year’s winners for serving our institution, students, faculty, staff, and patients.

This year’s Dr. Dale Blackstock Award Winners include:


Deborah L. Reede, M.D.
Chair, Department of Radiology



Brigitte Desport, DPS, OTR/L, BCP, ATP
Associate Professor
Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives
School of Health Professions

Barbara Messina, Ph.D., MSD/ANP
Associate Professor
Associate Dean for Transformational Education
School of Nursing

Katherine Perkins, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Physiology and Pharmacology
College of Medicine



Anika Daniels-Osaze, Ed.D., MPH
Associate Dean for Education
Clinical Associate Professor of Health Policy and Management
School of Public Health

Mahalia French, MS, R.D., CDN
Clinical Nutritionist/Transplant Dietician
Transplant Division

Dawn Froome, MSEd.
Student Affairs Associate
Director of Career Services
College of Medicine

Christina Pardo, M.D., MPH, FACOG
Vice Chair, Quality & Innovation
Director, Division of Health Equity
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Christine Persaud, M.D., MBA, FAAFP
Assistant Professor, Division of Sports Medicine
Department of Orthopedic Surgery and Rehabilitation Medicine

Jo Wiederhorn
President and CEO
Associated Medical Schools of New York

Jo Wiederhorn, President and CEO of the Associated Medical Schools of New York, a consortium of the 17 public and private medical schools of New York State, received the Diversity Champion Award for her support of pathway programs that encourage and prepare underrepresented students for medical school. Through Ms. Wiederhorn’s advocacy work, Downstate received additional funds to support the Bridges to Medicine post-baccalaureate master’s program. 



Alithia Alleyne, CMHFA
Program Administrator
Occupational Therapy Program
School of Health Professions

Avion Ambrose
Associate Interim Director
Bursar’s Office

Cheryl Daley-Hill
Greeter, Care Coordination

Jodi-Ann Edwards, M.D., PGY2, RY3
General Surgery Resident
Laboratory Research Fellow
Department of Surgery

Romelda Huggins
Cashier, Sodexo

Cheryl M. Marriott, DRE
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Library Services

Tags: Events