Map of SUNY Downstate Campus

Open Large PDF Version

Located on a 13-acre urban campus in the East Flatbush section of Brooklyn, SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University includes the College of Medicine, which is the largest medical school in the state; a School of Graduate Studies; a School of Public Health; a College of Nursing; a School of Health Professions, a major biomedical research center; and the 376-bed University Hospital at Downstate. Downstate's Advanced Biotechnology Incubator is located adjacent to the main campus, on Parkside Avenue; its BioBAT project, for midsized companies and manufacturing, is located in Sunset Park.

One of 64 campuses in the State University of New York education system, SUNY Downstate is the focal point of a healthcare network that encompasses 20 hospitals and research institutions and more than 40 health-related facilities in Brooklyn, Staten Island, and beyond. As such, it enhances the care of nearly three million people.

SUNY Downstate was originally founded in 1860 as the Long Island College Hospital - Collegiate Division. The school revolutionized medical education in the United States by rejecting the practice of training physicians exclusively in university classrooms and bringing the teaching of medicine to the hospital bedside for the first time. In 1950 the school joined the State University of New York and became known as Downstate Medical Center.