Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions
curve gif

SUNY Downstate Medical Center

Alumni Association College of Medicine

Alumni Association Award Recipients 2013

photo composite

Each year alumni of distinction are honored at the Annual Awards Ceremony held during the Alumni Reunion weekend. Listed here are the awards that are presented and the recipients for 2013.

Please note that awards are usually given to people in the five-year classes. This year it would be given to the classes ending in a three (4) or an eight (9).

Yale Rosen, MD '61
Chairman Awards Committee

Photo Galleries

Note: When you mouse-over the photo, image numbers appear in the lower left corner.

Dinner Dance »

Awards Program »

Award Recipients for 2013 Alumni Reunion

Presentation Of Special Service Awards

Special Recognition Award In Cardiology
To Morton A. Diamond '63

Special Recognition Award In Hematology
To Samuel Waxman '63

Special Recognition Award In Endocrinology
To Stanley Feld '63

Special Recognition Award In Colorectal Surgery
To Kevin J. Mckenna '88

Special Recognition Award In Cardiothoracic Surgery
To Marvin L. Hartstein '63

Special Recognition Award In Obstetrics-Gynecology
To Andrew Ditchik '88

Special Recognition Award In Otolaryngology
To Alvin Katz '63

Special Recognition Award In Pediatric Urology
To Kenneth I. Glassberg '68

Special Recognition Award In Neurology
To Howard W. Sander '88

Special Recognition Award For Student Scholarship Support
To Marvin C. Kochman '53
To Bruce M. Schlein, 63

Honorary Alumni Initiation
To Karen E. Benker, MD, MPH
To Pamela Daun Sass, MD

Alumni Ambassador Award
To Constance Shames '63

Presentation Of Master Teacher Awards

William Dock, MD Award In Medicine
To Jill P. Crandall '88

Louis M. Hellman, MD Award In Obstetrics-Gynecology
To Jessica L. Bienstock '88

Samuel Seifter, PhD Award In Basic Sciences
To John F. Mullane '63

Richard L. Day, MD Award In Pediatrics
To Lisa F. Imundo '88

Jean R. Oliver, MD Award In Pathology
To Joseph M. Mirra '63

Phillip L. Lear, MD '34 Award In Surgery
To Richard M. Engelman '63
To Lawrence S. Hakim '88

George Liberman, MD Award In Family Practice
To William A. Fife, Jr '98

Presentation Of Awards Of Distinction

Alumni Service Award
To Joseph S. Winik '74

Clark-Curran Award In Medical Administration
To Akram Boutros '88

Alumni Public Health Award
To Christopher Beyrer '88

Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award
To Michael A. Apicella '63
To Lowell A. Goldsmith '63

Clarence And Mary Dennis Dedicated Service Award
To William M. Mc Cormack '63