Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions

SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University

Robert F. Furchgott Society

The Robert F. Furchgott Scholar

This is a call for applications for an award, up to $10,000, to be given to post-graduate level trainees in the basic and/or clinical sciences who have made outstanding scientific contributions to their chosen area of study.

Who is eligible?

To qualify for this award, an applicant must possess an MD, a PhD, MD/PhD, or a foreign equivalent of such degrees, must be actively engaged in post-graduate or fellowship-level training at SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University and not currently enrolled in an MD or PhD program. The applicant may have a non-tenure track appointment;  tenure-track faculty members and paid support staff (i.e. laboratory technicians) are not eligible. The research upon which the scholarship is judged must have been performed in affiliation with SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University. Nominations can be submitted by the applicant's research advisor or by the applicant directly.

Nominations require:

  1. A completed nomination application, with your supporting documents (listed below) included, in a single PDF file.
  2. A letter from the research advisor describing the applicant's role in designing, executing, and interpreting the results of the project.
  3. An abstract describing the research project (no more than 250 words).
  4. The applicant's curriculum vitae. 

Selected applicants will present a 15-minute oral presentation to members of the Robert F. Furchgott Review Committee.

The application package must be electronically submitted as a single PDF file to by Friday, April 3, 2020 at 5 PM.


A maximum of two Robert F. Furchgott Scholars will be awarded per year. It two awards are made, one will go to a basic researcher and one to a clinical researcher. If one award is made, it may go to either a basic researcher or to a clinical researcher. The Scholar will be presented with the award at the Annual Robert F. Furchgott Visiting Professorship Award Luncheon. For further information contact Rose Jackman at extension 4786 or visit our webpage at