

Institutional Review Board & Privacy Board



FWA#:3624 • IORG#:64 • IRB#:11521

Members of the Scientific Review Committees

The Scientific Review Committee members are appointed by the Department Chair or Dean of the Scientific Area listed below. If you have any questions about current membership, please contact the Department Chair or Dean listed in the first column below. For more information about the SUNY DMC IRB, please call 718-613-8480 or write IRB@downstate.edu

For information on the NYC H+H, Kings County research process please contact their Facility Research Coordinator, Bryce Petty at Bryce.Petty@nychhc.org or (718) 613-8185.

Scientific Area	Scientific Review Committee Members
College of Health Related Professionals	Joanne Katz, PhD, DPT
Allen Lewis, PhD, CRC (Dean)	Ronnie Lichtman, PhD
	Mohammad Faysel, PhD
	Beth Elenko, PhD, OTR/L
College of Medicine & Department of Medicine	Paul Dreizen, MD
Michael Lucchesi, MD, MS (Interim Dean, College of	Subodh Saggi, MD
Medicine)	Patrick Geraghty, PhD
Moro Salifu, MD (Chair, Department of Medicine)	

Michael Augenbraun, MD (Vice Chair for Administration & Interim Chief Medical Officer of UHB)	
Michael Augenbrun, MD (Chief, Infectious Diseases) Mary Ann Banerji, MD (Chief, Endocrinology) Jack Dehovitz, MD (Director, STAR) Robert Foronjy, MD (Chief, Pulmonary) Ellen Ginzler, MD (Chief, Rheumatology) Rauno Joks, MD (Chief, Allergy Immunology) Jonathan Marmur, MD (Chief, Cardiology) Rovie Mesola, MD (Hospitalist) Iuliana Shapira, MD (Chief, Adult Hematology/Oncology) Shivakumar Vignesh, MD (Chief, Gastroenterology & Hepatology) Yaoping Zhang, MD (Interim Chief, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology)	
College of Nursing	Shirley Girouard, PhD, RN, FAAN (Chair)
Lori Escallier, PhD, RN, CPNP-PC, FAAN (Professor and Dean)	Veronica Arikian, PhD, RN Sheryl Zang, EdD, FNP, CNS-BC
,	Nataliya Shaforost, DNP, FNP-C, CDE
Department of Anesthesiology David Wlody, MD (Regional Systems Chair)	(Known within the department as Scholarly Oversight Committee)
	Audree Bendo, MD James Cottrell, MD FRCA
	John Hartung, PhD
	Dennis Dimaculangan, PhD
	Julie Rushbrook, PhD Ketan Shevde, MD
	Ivan Velickovic, MD
	David Wlody, MD
	Samrat Worah, MD
	Ming Zhang, MD PhD

Department of Dermatology	Daniel Siegel, MD
Edward Heilman, MD (Chair)	Eve Lowenstein, MD
Department of Emergency Medicine	Richard Sinert, DO
Michael Lucchesi, MD, MS (Chair)	Shahriar Zehtabchi, MD
Wildrider Edecricsi, W.D., W.D. (Oridin)	Jennifer Martindale, MD
Department of Family Practice	Richard Sadovksy, MD
Eve Faber, MD (Interim Chair)	Alla Akivis, MD,
Richard Sadovksy, MD (Interim Chair)	Madhavi Gavini Ph D.
(monard cade may)	
Department of Neurology	Steven R. Levine, MD
Daniel Rosenbaum, MD (Chair)	Arthur Grant, MD
, , ,	Howard Crystal, MD
	Daniel Rosenbaum, MD
Department of Medicine	See above (information combined with College of Medicine)
See above (information combined with College of	
Medicine)	
Department of OB/GYN	Wen-Ching Lee, Ph.D.
Howard Minkoff, MD (Executive Regional Chair)	Margaux Kanis, MD
Yi-Chun Lee, MD (Departmental Director)	Ozgul Muneyyirci-Delale, MD
	Mudar Dalloul, MD
Note: Dr. Lee will e-sign IRB submissions for the	Patricia Gil, MD
Department of OB/GYN.	David Sherer, MD
Department of Ophthalmology	John Danias, MD, PhD
John Danias, MD, PhD (Interim Chair)	Eric M. Shrier, DO
Com Barnas, mb, r mb (manin chan)	
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery /	Carl Paulino, MD
Rehabilitation Medicine	Aditya Maheshwari, MD
William Urban, MD (Chair)	
Department of Otolaryngology	Sydney C. Butts, MD
Richard M. Rosenfeld, MD, MPH (Chair)	Nira A. Goldstein, MD, MPH
,	Richard M. Rosenfeld, MD, MPH
Department of Pathology	Constantine Axiotis, MD
Jenny Libien, MD, PhD (Chair)	Raavi Gupta,MD
	Jenny Libien, MD, PhD

Department of Pediatrics	Jacob Aranda, MD
Stephen Wadowski, MD (Chair)	Margaret Hammerschlag, MD
	Steven Schwarz, MD
Department of Pharmacy	Teresa Chan, PharmD, BCPS
Steven DiCrescento, RPh	Stanley Moy, PharmD, BCPS
	Tae Eun Park, PharmD, BCPS
	Michael Casias, PharmD
	Madhavi Gavini, PharmD, BCPS, AE-C, RYT
	Larry Riccio, RPh, BCOP
	Laurie Ferguson, PharmD, MHA
	Ivor (Ian) Richards, PharmD
	Rebecca Kavanagh, PharmD
	Roopali Sharma, PharmD, AAHIVP, BCPS (AQ-ID)
Department of Psychiatry	Ayman Fanous, MD
Ayman Fanous, MD (Chair)	
Department of Radiation Oncology	Christopher S. Lange, S.B., D.Phil.
Deborah Reede, MD (Chair)	
David Schwartz, MD (Executive Vice Chair)	
Department of Radiology	Arnold Strashun, MD
Deborah Reede, MD (Chair)	Stephen Waite, MD
Department of Surgery	John Kral, MD
Rainer, W. G. Gruessner, MD (Chair)	Devon John, MD
Department of Urology	Brian K. McNeil, MD
Jeffrey Weiss, MD (Chair)	Llewellyn M. Hyacinthe, MD, FACS
•	Andrew G. Winer, MD
	Jeffrey P. Weiss, MD
NYC H + H, Kings County	Richard Sinert, DO
Richard Sinert, DO (Research Chair)	
School of Graduate Studies	Mark Stewart, MD, PhD
Mark Stewart, MD, PhD (Dean)	
School of Public Health	Michael Szarek, PhD, MS
Kitaw Demissie, MD, PhD	
(Dean and Professor)	