

Institutional Review Board & Privacy Board



FWA#:00003624 • IORG#:0000064

Members of the Scientific Review Committees

The Scientific Review Committee members are appointed by the Department Chair or Dean of the Scientific Area listed below. If you have any questions about current membership, please contact the Department Chair or Dean listed in the first column below. For more information about the SUNY DMC IRB, please call 718-613-8480 or write IRB@downstate.edu

For information on the NYC H+H, Kings County research process please contact their Facility Research Coordinator, Bryce Petty at Bryce.Petty@nychhc.org or (718) 613-8185.

Scientific Area	Scientific Review Committee Members
School of Health Related Professions Allen Lewis, PhD, CRC (Dean)	Joanne Katz, PhD, DPT Ronnie Lichtman, PhD Mohammad Faysel, PhD Yosefa Pessin, DHSc, RDMS, RDCSRVTVT
College of Medicine & Department of Medicine F. Charles Brunicardi, MD, FACS (Dean, College of Medicine) Moro Salifu, MD (Chair, Department of Medicine)	Paul Dreizen, MD Subodh Saggi, MD Patrick Geraghty, PhD

Michael Augenbrun, MD (Chief, Infectious Diseases) Mary Ann Banerji, MD (Chief, Endocrinology) Jack Dehovitz, MD (Director, STAR) Robert Foronjy, MD (Chief, Pulmonary) Ellen Ginzler, MD (Chief, Rheumatology) Rauno Joks, MD (Chief, Allergy Immunology) Jonathan Marmur, MD (Chief, Cardiology) Rovie Mesola, MD (Hospitalist) Shivakumar Vignesh, MD (Chief, Gastroenterology & Hepatology) Yaoping Zhang, MD (Interim Chief, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology) College of Nursing Lori Escallier, PhD, RN, CPNP-PC, FAAN	Shirley Girouard, PhD, RN, FAAN (Chair) Veronica Arikian, PhD, RN
(Professor and Dean)	Sheryl Zang, EdD, FNP, CNS-BC Nataliya Shaforost, DNP, FNP-C, CDE
Department of Anesthesiology David Wlody, MD (Regional Systems Chair)	(Known within the department as Scholarly Oversight Committee) Audree Bendo, MD James Cottrell, MD FRCA John Hartung, PhD Dennis Dimaculangan, PhD Julie Rushbrook, PhD Ketan Shevde, MD Ivan Velickovic, MD David Wlody, MD Samrat Worah, MD Ming Zhang, MD PhD
Department of Dermatology Edward Heilman, MD (Chair)	Daniel Siegel, MD Eve Lowenstein, MD
Department of Emergency Medicine Michael Lucchesi, MD, MS (Chair)	Richard Sinert, DO Shahriar Zehtabchi, MD Jennifer Martindale, MD
Department of Family Practice Eve Faber, MD (Interim Chair)	Richard Sadovksy, MD Alla Akivis, MD,

Richard Sadovksy, MD (Interim Chair)	Madhavi Gavini Ph D.
Department of Neurology Daniel Rosenbaum, MD (Chair)	Steven R. Levine, MD Arthur Grant, MD Howard Crystal, MD Daniel Rosenbaum, MD
Department of Medicine See above (information combined with College of Medicine)	See above (information combined with College of Medicine)
Department of OB/GYN Howard Minkoff, MD (Executive Regional Chair) Yi-Chun Lee, MD (Departmental Director) Note: Dr. Lee will e-sign IRB submissions for the Department of OB/GYN.	Wen-Ching Lee, Ph.D. Margaux Kanis, MD Ozgul Muneyyirci-Delale, MD Mudar Dalloul, MD Patricia Gil, MD David Sherer, MD
Department of Ophthalmology John Danias, MD, PhD (Interim Chair)	John Danias, MD, PhD Eric M. Shrier, DO
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery / Rehabilitation Medicine William Urban, MD (Chair)	Carl Paulino, MD Aditya Maheshwari, MD
Department of Otolaryngology Richard M. Rosenfeld, MD, MPH (Chair)	Sydney C. Butts, MD Nira A. Goldstein, MD, MPH Richard M. Rosenfeld, MD, MPH
Department of Pathology Jenny Libien, MD, PhD (Chair)	Constantine Axiotis, MD Raavi Gupta, MD Jenny Libien, MD, PhD
Department of Pediatrics Stephen Wadowski, MD (Chair)	Jacob Aranda, MD Margaret Hammerschlag, MD Steven Schwarz, MD
Department of Pharmacy Maria Ribisi, RPh	Teresa Chan, PharmD, BCPS Laurie Ferguson, PharmD, MHA Ivor (Ian) Richards, PharmD Roopali Sharma, PharmD, AAHIVP, BCPS (AQ-ID) Jonathan Sin, PharmD, BCPS

Department of Psychiatry Ayman Fanous, MD (Chair)	Ayman Fanous, MD
Department of Radiation Oncology Deborah Reede, MD (Chair) David Schwartz, MD (Executive Vice Chair)	Christopher S. Lange, S.B., D.Phil.
Department of Radiology Deborah Reede, MD (Chair)	Arnold Strashun, MD Stephen Waite, MD
Department of Surgery Alexander Schwartzman, M.D., MBA, FACS (Interim Chair)	Rainer, W. G. Gruessner, MD Igal Breitman MD. FACS.
Department of Urology Jeffrey Weiss, MD (Chair)	Brian K. McNeil, MD Llewellyn M. Hyacinthe, MD, FACS Andrew G. Winer, MD Jeffrey P. Weiss, MD
NYC H + H, Kings County Richard Sinert, DO (Research Chair)	Richard Sinert, DO
School of Graduate Studies Mark Stewart, MD, PhD (Dean)	Mark Stewart, MD, PhD
School of Public Health Kitaw Demissie, MD, PhD (Dean and Professor)	Tracey E. Wilson, PhD