Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions

SUNY Downstate Medical Center

Department of Ophthalmology

The J. Eugene Chalfin, MD Lectureship

Photo of J. Eugene Chalfin

J. Eugene Chalfin, MD was a very respected faculty member who was extremely dedicated to resident education. He was a faculty member that was highly sought after in the clinics and he was always available even off hours. He was an excellent surgeon. He unfortunately passed away at too early an age and we recognize his memory with a named lecture every 2-3 years at our alumni day. The recipient of the award is a recognized and respected resident and/or fellow mentor.

J. Eugene Chalfin MD Awardees

1972 George Weinstein MD
1973 Morton Rosenthal MD
1974 Peter Ballen MD
1975 Richard Troutman MD
1976 Caleb Gonzalez MD
1977 Austin Fink MD
1978 Paul Bedrossian MD
1979 Felix Sabates MD
1980 Joseph Goldstein MD
1981 Arthur Wolintz MD
1982 Donald Willard MD
1983 George Gombos MD
1984 Martin Bodian MD
1985 Albert Hornblass MD
1986 Bernard Schwartz MD
1987 Jeffrey Freedman MD
1988 Rory Dolan MD
1989 Fred Gottleib MD
1990 Robert Jampel MD
1991 Murray Meltzer MD
1992 Robert Fenton MD
1994 Judith Gurland MD
1995 Richard Storm MD
1996 David Berman MD
1997 Marvin Kochman MD
1998 Sheldon Pass MD
2000 E. Clifford Lazzaro MD
2002 Kevin Greenidge MD
2006 Edward Smith MD
2007 Marcus Edelstein MD
2013 Carol Shields MD