Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions

SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University

College of Nursing

Faculty Governance

Governance Structure of the College of Nursing

The College of Nursing's governance is vested in the Faculty and Professional Staff Assembly. This body, which meets a minimum of four times during each academic year, elects the Presiding Officer, the Presiding Officer-elect and the members of the College's Standing Committees, all of whom have a two year term of office.

Each of the Standing Committees of the College of Nursing elects its own committee chairperson at the first committee meeting of each academic year. Committee Chairpersons serve a one year term of office and may be re-elected by the members. There are no term limits to the office of committee chairperson. Provision is made for student representation on the Admissions and Recruitment Committee, Curriculum Committee, Educational Policies Committee, Technology Committee and Faculty and Professional Staff Assembly.


The officers and committee chairpersons of the College's standing committees for academic year 2019-2020 are as follows:

Presiding Officer:                                                 Yvonne Nathan, EdD, RN          


Chairs/Co-Chairs of the College's Standing Committees:

Admissions and Recruitment Committee:

Beth Steinfeld, DNP, WHNP-BC

Kathy Bratby, EdD, RN

Committee on Academic and Professional Qualifications: Missi Stec, DNP, CNM, APRN, FACNM, FAAN
Curriculum Committee: Joseph Jennas, MS, CRNA
Educational Policies Committee: Sheryl Zang, EdD, FNP, CNS-BC
Nominations, Elections and By-Laws Committee: Lauren Ellis, MS, FNP-BC
Evaluation Committee: Missi Stec, DNP, CNM, APRN, FACNM, FAAN
Representatives to the Center-wide of the Faculty and Professional Staff: Yvonne Nathan, EdD, RN