

Baylor College of Medicine announces the

## 7th annual Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Award

This annual contest honors the pre-eminent cardiovascular surgeon, pioneering medical scientist, gifted medical educator, prolific author and scholar, and passionate advocate of optimal healthcare throughout the world. Dr. Michael E. DeBakey long advocated a role for the humanities in medical education and in the development of a full, enriching intellectual life.

Submission of original poetry by undergraduates currently enrolled in accredited United States medical schools is welcome.

Guidelines:

- 1. Only original poetry by undergraduates currently enrolled in accredited U.S. medical schools is eligible.
- 2. By a copy of the student photograph I.D. card, entrants must document enrollment in an accredited American medical school in pursuit of the M.D. degree.
- 3. Each medical student may submit only one poem, not to exceed two pages.
- 4. Entries must be postmarked no later than Dec. 31, 2009.
- 5. Poems may be of any general or specific theme.
- 6. Poems must be:

-Original, not published or under consideration for publication, and not having previously received a poetry award.

-Limited to two pages, double-spaced.

-In English; no translations from other languages.

-Printed on 8.5 x 11-inch bond paper.

-Accompanied by a cover page with the following information:

- a. Poet's name.
- b. Current mailing and e-mailing addresses, telephone, and fax numbers if available.

c. Copy of photographed student I.D. card documenting medical school enrollment.

-Submitted in hardcopy, in quintuplicate (five copies), and only on CD in Microsoft Word.

7. Entries will not be acknowledged.

8. All winning poems become the property of the Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Award program.

- 9. A distinguished panel of qualified judges will assess the poems.
- 10. Winners will be announced on July 1, 2010.
  - -The first prize recipient will receive a cash prize of \$1,000.
  - -The second prize recipient will receive a cash prize of \$500.
  - -The third prize recipient will receive a cash prize of \$250.
- 11. The first-prize poem will be submitted to a major medical periodical for consideration for publication.

Submissions should be sent to:

F. Charles Brunicardi, M.D., F.A.C.S. DeBakey/Bard Professor and Chairman Michael E. DeBakey Department of Surgery DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Award Baylor College of Medicine 1709 Dryden, Suite 1500 Houston, Texas 77030