

# 17TH ANNUAL AWARDS CEREMONY

Tuesday, May 18, 2021 at 2:00 PM



# **PROGRAM**

WELCOME

MESSAGE FROM DEPARTMENT CHAIRS

PRESENTATION OF AWARDS

DELTA OMEGA BETA IOTA INDUCTION

**CLOSING REMARKS** 

#### MESSAGE FROM THE CHAIRS

Barbara Delano, MD, MPH Community Health Sciences Elizabeth Helzner, PhD, MS Epidemiology & Biostatistics

Laura Geer, PhD, MHS Environmental & Occupational Health Sciences

Daniel Ehlke, PhD, MA Health Policy & Management

#### PRESENTATION OF AWARDS

### 2021 EXCELLENCE IN PUBLIC HEALTH AWARD Lily Lee

Presented by Mary ("Molly") Evans, MD, MPH, FACP Medical Officer, Center for Disease Control, Division of Global HIV and TB

#### THE LOWELL E. BELLIN, MD AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN PUBLIC HEALTH **Stephanie Chan**

Presented by Megan Hall, ScD, MS

THE SAMUEL KAVALER, MD 1922 COLLEGE OF MEDICINE AND FLORENCE KAVALER, MD 1959 COLLEGE OF MEDICINE AWARD FOR GENERAL EXCELLENCE

### **Basant Hamed** Teneisha Olivierre

Presented by Janet Rosenbaum, PhD

## THE ROY MILNER SEIDEMAN, MD AWARD FOR ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE Nitya Devireddy

Presented by Azure Thompson, DrPH, MPH

## THE DR. ALLEN D. SPIEGEL MEMORIAL AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PUBLIC HEALTH PROGRAM

#### Alexander Barna

Presented by Elizabeth Helzner, PhD, MS

THE JOHN J. WALSH, MD AWARD FOR EXTRAORDINARY LEADERSHIP IN AND COMMITMENT TO IMPROVING THE HEALTH OF INDIVIDUALS AND COMMUNITIES Clara Wilson

Presented by Denise Bruno, MD, MPH

### THE DR. MAHFOUZ H. ZAKI MEMORIAL AWARD FOR MATERNAL & CHILD HEALTH **Tzeyin Tang**

Presented by Daniel Ehlke, PhD, MA

#### THE WILLIAM KUCHLER AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN BIOSTATISTICS Yongsheng Wang

Presented by Carl Rosenberg, PhD, MS

DEAN'S MEDAL OF EXCELLENCE

Kristelle Pierre

Presented by Kitaw Demissie, MD, PhD

# FACULTY AWARD FOR EXECELLENCE IN TEACHING Presented by Kristelle Pierre, Secretary, SPH Student Council

# SUNY CHANCELLOR'S AWARD IN PROFESSIONAL EXCELLENCE Presented by Kitaw Demissie, MD, PhD

# DELTA OMEGA BETA IOTA CHAPTER INDUCTEES 2020-2021

STUDENT MEMBERS

Ama Boadu

Daphne Brown

Stephanie Chan

Nitya Devireddy

Yocheved Halberstam

Karolyn Le

Tzeyin Tang

Viola Woo

Presented by Tracey Wilson, PhD

FACULTY MEMBER

Aimee Afable, PhD, MPH

Presented by Barbara Delano, MD, MPH

#### **HONORARY MEMBERS**

F. Charles Brunicardi, MD, FACS

Presented by Pascal James Imperato, MD, MPH&TM

Jason M. Lazar, MD, MPH, FACC, FACP

Presented by Kitaw Demissie, MD, PhD

**CLOSING REMARKS**