Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions

SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University

Department of Anesthesiology


SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University

  • David Wlody, M.D.
    Chair, SUNY Downstate College of Medicine
    Program Director
  • Audrée A. Bendo, M.D.
    Chair, SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University
  • Jame s E. Cottrell, M.D.
    Emeritus Chair
  • Alexandru Apostol, M.D.
    Director, University Hospital of Brooklyn
  • Koray Arica, M.D.
  • Margarita Dela Pena, M.D.
    Director, Pediatric Anesthesia; Associate Program Director
  • Denni s Dimaculangan, M.D.
    Director, Regional Anesthesia
    Director, Medical Student Education
  • Geraldine Diaz, D.O.
    Associate Program Director
  • Elie Fried, M.D.
    Director, Ambulatory Anesthesia
  • Helen Lauro, M.D.
  • Baiping Lei, M.D.
  • Mohammad Salam, M.D.

    Clinical Director, SUNY BayRidge

  • Ketan Shevde, M.D.
    Clinical Associate Dean
    Vice Chair for Research
  • Marina Svyatet s, M.D.
    Director, Cardiac Anesthesia
  • Ivan Velickovic, M.D.
    Director, OB Anesthesia
  • Samrat Worah, M.D.
    Program Director, Critical Care

Kings County Hospital Center

  • Michael Mendeszoon, M.D.
    Chief of Anesthesia
  • Adwoa Essuman, M.D.
    Clinical Director
  • Omotola Dawodu, M.D.
    Educational Site Director
  • Shantha Ganesan, M.D.
    Director, Pain Medicine

Brookdale Hospital Medical Center

  • Jayalakshmi Harid, M.D.
    Vice Chair
  • Joseph SchiandiCola, M.D.
    Vice Chair – Operations
    Education Site Director
  • Johanne S. Thomas, M.D.

    Clinical Director 

Staten Island University Hospital

  • Paul Alfano, M.D.
    Chair, Anesthesia
  • Bhawana Dave, M.D.
    Director, Cardiac Anesthesia
    Educational Site Director