# Present: R. Joks, S. Eisner, H. Durkin, M. Nowakowski, S. Miller, M. Silverberg, M. Feuerman, N. Penington

Dr. Joks called the meeting to order. October and November minutes were read and approved.

## **Presiding Officer's Report**

Dr. Sass asked Dr. Joks if there is a policy regarding the use of textbooks that are written by faculty members. Dr. Joks stated there is no policy and asked the committee to create one. After brainstorming, the committee decided the following:

- Disclosure of proprietary interest in learning materials by teachers
  Provide an additional 2<sup>nd</sup> required text if the author is in charge of the course or is responsible for a large portion of teaching within a course.

## Subcommittee Reports

## CEPC

Dr. Eisner stated that Downstate is preparing for the LCME site visit in February 2013. One of the standards, ED-33, is the most cited. Dr. Eisner defined ED-33 as "The Faculty dominated based integrated curriculum committee that focuses on the design, management and evaluation of the educational program." The College of Medicine has been cited on this standard in the past. Based on the mock site visit, it was determined that there has to be to a committee that will meet the ED-33. Currently, CEPC has been getting involved in education and curriculum policy. The Dean's Council is supposed to handle the management, design and the evaluation of the curriculum, but has shifted focus in the changing structure of the new curriculum. Dr. Coico who attended the AAMC realized that in order to not receive citation, there has to be one committee that meets the ED-33. After discussions with various people, it was decided that the Dean's Council will be the committee to handle the management, design and the evaluation of the curriculum. Also it was decided that Dean's Council membership will include 3 basic and 3 clinical scientists.

The following names have been given to the Dean to serve on the Dean's Council: **Basic Sciences** Dr. Katherine Perkins Dr. Miriam Feuerman Dr. Jenny Libien Dr. Ira Kass

**Clinical Sciences** Dr. Elka Jacobson-Dickman Dr. Michael Augenbraun Dr. Nagaraj Gabbur

Dr. Kathleen Powderly Dr. Nira Goldstein Dr. Lisa Merlin

The committee decided that three members would serve  $1^{1/2}$  terms with the remaining 3 faculty members serving  $2^{1/2}$  terms. The Dean's Council of Education will have to be restructured in order to meet the needs of curriculum. As of Jan 2013, Dr. Sass will assume the role of chair. Dr. Friedman, who is the current chair, will serve on the committee until the completion of the MS2 class. The CEPC committee will remain in place as an independent committee that will report through the Executive committee to the Dean. CEPC will report on curriculum evaluation or any issues related to the curriculum.

Dr. Eisner stated that the Gross Anatomy sculpture is completed and is ready for unveiling. The money for the sculpture was earmarked many years ago, but she feared that many would feel that the expense of the sculpture is inappropriate considering the economic climate and the layoff of Downstate employees. The committee felt that the Anatomy department should go ahead and unveil the sculpture.

# **Research, Resources and Budget**

Dr. Durkin stated that the website should be up by the end of the year.

Respectfully submitted,

Kathleen E. Powderly, PhD