Minutes of the last meeting of the Centerwide committee of Faculty and Professional Staff. Took Place on 10th of September 2018

The preliminary list of candidates was presented and running for Senator were: Brigitte Desport Elie Fried Kathleen Powderly Lori Hoepner Ninfa Mehta

Alternate Senators running were: Rauno Joks Jasmin Thomas

Running for Presiding Officer Elect were: Sam Marquez Allen Norin Arnold Strashun Alexander Schwartzman

Running for secretary were: Lisa Merlin Vikram Pagpatan

It was decided, based on the bylaws, that two Senators had to be elected and two Alternate Senators had to be elected. Senators and Alternates should be paired based on the remaining length of their term.

There was some discussion of the attendance of Presiding Officer at the Executive Meeting of the President.

The matter of secretarial support for Centerwide would be raised with the President. It was also resolved that Lori Hoepner needed to run again because she was appointed to finish the remainder of the previously elected Senator's term whose time was over. It was decided that she could run as either Alternate or Senator but she preferred to run as a Senator. A unanimous vote was taken that confirm this.

A long discussion on the interpretation of the Bylaws occurred. A motion was voted on that the last approved modification of the Bylaws took place in January 1973 in which the elections became Biennial and the interpretation was that, as it stands, the PO and POE were elected for two year terms. 5 votes were recorded in favor 2 against with one abstention.

The election would be open from the floor at a Forum for nominations and the ballot would go live on the 19th and remain live for 10 days.

A serious problem with leaks in the student center was raised and this needs to be brought up with Dr. Riley since it makes a very poor impression to new students who tour the facility. The meeting was adjourned at 5:30 PM.