

SCHOOL OF PUBLIC HEALTH

20TH ANNUAL AWARDS CEREMONY

Monday, May 13, 2024 at 1:00 PM

Public Health Academic Building (PHAB) 450 Clarkson Avenue, 1st Floor, PHAB Hall A & B



PROGRAM

WELCOME FROM THE DEAN

MESSAGE FROM DEPARTMENT CHAIRS

PRESENTATION OF AWARDS

STUDENT COUNCIL AWARDS

DELTA OMEGA INDUCTION

CLOSING REMARKS

MESSAGE FROM THE CHAIRS

Denise Bruno, MD, MPH

Community Health Sciences

Laura Geer, Ph D, MHS

Environmental & Occupational Health Sciences

Elizabeth Helzner, PhD, MS

Epidemiology & Biostatistics

Thomas Mackie, PhD, MPH

Health Policy & Management

PRESENTATION OF AWARDS

2024 EXCELLENCE IN PUBLIC HEALTH AWARD

*Justin Ingram

Presented by Celia Quinn, MD, MPH, Commander

United States Public Health Service Officer

Deputy Commissioner of the Division of Disease Control

New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene

LOWELL E. BELLIN, MD AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN PUBLIC HEALTH

*Susan Holman

Presented by Tracey Wilson, PhD

SAMUEL KAVALER, MD 1922 COLLEGE OF MEDICINE AND FLORENCE KAVALER, MD 1959 COLLEGE OF MEDICINE AWARD FOR GENERAL EXCELLENCE

*Elizabeth Ogundare

Presented by Azure Thompson, DrPH, MPH

ROY MILNER SEIDEMAN, MD AWARD FOR ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE

Risa Bochner

Presented by Simone Reynolds, PhD, MPH

Marc El Beaino

Presented by Elizabeth Helzner, PhD, MS

DR. ALLEN D. SPIEGEL MEMORIAL AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PUBLIC HEALTH PROGRAM

*Ayanna Besson

Presented by Elizabeth Helzner, PhD, MS

PRESENTATION OF AWARDS

JOHN J. WALSH, MD AWARD FOR EXTRAORDINARY LEADERSHIP IN AND COMMITMENT TO IMPROVING THE HEALTH OF INDIVIDUALS AND COMMUNITIES

*Lulu Wei

Presented by Elizabeth Helzner, PhD, MS

DR. MAH FOUZ H. ZAKI MEMORIAL AWARD FOR MATERNAL & CHILD HEALTH

Patricia Mullings

Presented by Sergios-Orestis Kolokotronis, PhD

WILLIAM KUCHLER AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN BIOSTATISTICS

*Danylo Orlov

Presented by Rose Calixte, PhD

DEAN'S MEDAL OF EXCELLENCE

*Janille Williams

Presented by Kitaw Demissie, MD, PhD

COMMUNITY CHANGE MAKER AWARDS

Mexican Coalition for the Empowerment of Youth and Families

Jairo Guzman, Founder & President

Presented by Aimee Afable, PhD, MPH

STUDENT CHAMPION AWARD

Paula Spann

Presented by Janille Williams

FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING

Simone Reynolds, PhD, MPH

Presented by Janille Williams

PRESENTATION OF AWARDS

FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN MENTORING

Rose Calixte, PhD, MS
Presented by Janille Williams

FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN LEADERSHIP

Marlene Camacho-Rivera, ScD, MPH
Presented by Janille Williams

DELTA OMEGA INDUCTION CEREMONY

OPENING REMARKS

Tracey Wilson, PhD

FACULTY MEMBERS

Anika Daniels-Osaze, EdD, MPH Elizabeth Helzner, PhD, MS Presented by Tracey Wilson, PhD

HONORARY MEMBERS

Betty Jung, RN

Downstate Center for Community Health Promotion and Wellness

Presented by Aimee Afable, PhD, MPH

ALUMNI MEMBERS

Alyson Clarke

Maly Fenelus

Presented by Marlene Camacho-Rivera, ScD, MPH

DELTA OMEGA INDUCTION CEREMONY

STUDENT MEMBERS

Ayanna Besson – Epidemiology & Biostatistics

Moyouri Bhattacharjee – Epidemiology & Biostatistics

Sonya Chemouni Bach – Epidemiology & Biostatistics

Susan Holman – Community Health Sciences

Justin Ingram – Epidemiology & Biostatistics

Efekona Nuwere – Health Policy & Management

Elizabeth Ogundare – Community Health Sciences

Danylo Orlov – Biostatistics

Melissa Oropeza Sosa – Epidemiology

Wilbert Pacheco – Health Policy & Management

Simran Patel – Environmental & Occupational Health Sciences

Natalie Rader – Epidemiology & Biostatistics

Tiara Simon – Healthcare Administration

Lauren Stafford – Community Health Sciences

Rawlica Sumner – Epidemiology & Biostatistics

Raul Urshela Otero – Health Policy & Management

Lulu Wei – Epidemiology

Janille Williams – Epidemiology

Raul Urshela Otero – Health Policy & Management

Jordan Zhou – Health Policy & Management

Presented by Marlene Camacho-Rivera, ScD, MPH

CLOSING REMARKS

Tracey Wilson, PhD, Vice Dean Faculty Affairs and Research

