Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions
curve gif

DEPARTMENT OF PATHOLOGY FACULTY LISTING

Name

MSC #

Phone (718)

 

email address

Areas of Interest:  Key Words
Abu-Lawi, Khaled, PhD
37
245-5350
   
Alarcon, Juan Marcos, PhD
25
221-5325
  Synaptic Plasticity, Learning and memory, hippocampal network.

Anderson, Virginia, MD

25

270-1294

 

virginia.anderson@downstate.edu

Morphologic alterations in pediatric and perinatal disease, placenta,
HIV disease, congenital malformations, congenital heart disease.

Axiotis, Constantine, A., M.D

25

245-5371

 

constantine.axiotis@downstate.edu

(MDR-P-glycoprotein), human
tumors, molecular pathology, breast cancer.

Barbour, Randall L., PhD

25

270-1284

 

randall.barbour@downstate.edu

Optical tomographic imaging, evaluation of tissue function.
Chen, Neil (Ning)
25
270-2279
  neil.chen@downstate.edu  

Durkin, Helen G., PhD

25

270-1295

 

helen.durkin@downstate.edu

IgE, allergy, asthma, food allergy, HIV-1, thymus, brain, magnetic stimulation, neuropeptides, Peyer’s patches, bacterial cell wall components, peptidoglycan, tetracycline, minocycline, chemically modified tetracycine.
Flax, Henry S., EdD
25
270-8173
 

henry.flax@downstate.edu

 

Gottesman, Susan R., PhD/MD

37

270-1661

 

susan.gottesman@downstate.edu

Immune system, aging, lymphoid malignancies.
Gupta, Raavi, MD
37
270-1673
  Myelodysplastic syndrome, Breast carcinoma.
Hernandez, A. Ivan, PhD
25
270-4561
  long-term synaptic plasticity, learning and memory, neurodegenerative disorders, drug addiction.

Howanitz, Joan, MD

25

270-4522

 

joan.howanitz@downstate.edu

Clinical chemistry, hemoglobinopathies; sodium and cardiac marker utilization.

Howanitz, Peter, MD

25

270-4522

 

peter.howanitz@downstate.edu

Quality of care; chemical pathology.
Kang, Steven, MD
37
270-8737
  Transfusion Medicine
Libien, Jenny, PhD/MD
25
270-6304
  retinoids, retinoid transport proteins, central nervous system, adult dentate gyrus, neurogenesis, neurodegenerative diseases.

Michl, Josef, MD

25

270-1643

 

josef.michl@downstate.edu

Host defense, infections, tumors, carcinogenesis, exocrine pancreas, early diagnostic, therapeutic tools, using cellular, molecular, biochemical and immunological approaches.

Mirra, Suzanne S., MD

25

270-1291

 

suzanne.mirra@downstate.edu

Alzheimer's disease, neurodegenerative disorders, cerebrovascular disease.
Nelson, Andrew
25
270-1298
 

Nicastri, Anthony D., MD

25

270-1669

 

anthony.nicastri@downstate.edu

Surgical Pathology, Renal Pathology, Gynecological Pathology.

Nowakowski, Maja, PhD

25

270-2206

 

maja.nowakowski@downstate.edu

Immune regulation, macrophage, nitric oxide, inflammation, asthma, HIV

Pincus, Matthew, MD

25

270-1291

 

matthew.pincus2@med.va.gov

ras-p21, signal transduction pathways, anti-oncogenic ras peptides, phenotypic reversion, p53-derived anti-cancer peptides, tumor cell necrosis

Salwen, Martin J., MD

25

270-4537

 

martin.salwen@downstate.edu

Analysis of clinical laboratory data, rule-based logic, pattern analysis, erythocytosis, rapid bacterial identification in sepsis.
Siddiqi, Haseeb PhD
36
270-1610
  Host-parasite interactions pathogenesis, immunity, schistosomiasis chemoattraction.

Schneller, Janet, MD

25

245-5374

 

janet.schneller@downstate.edu

 
Shao, Charles, PhD/MD
25
270-6755
  Alzheimer's Disease, PKM Zeta.
Somma, Jonathan, MD
37
270-1666
  Cytopathology; Fine Needle Aspiration Biopsy; Immunocytochemistry
Yudis, Carmencita, MD
37
221-4869
   

 

Dept. web content coordinator:
Andrew Nelson
E-mail: andrew.nelson@downstate.edu

Web site design: Andrew Nelson
450 Clarkson Ave Box 25 / Brooklyn, NY 11203
Tel: 718.270.1291 / Fax: 718.270.3313
DEPARTMENT OF PATHOLOGY