Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions
curve gif

Governance Structure of the College of Nursing

The College of Nursing's governance is vested in the Faculty and Professional Staff Assembly. This body, which meets a minimum of four times during each academic year, elects the Presiding Officer, the Presiding Officer-elect and the members of the College's Standing Committees, all of whom have a two year term of office.

Each of the Standing Committees of the College of Nursing elects its own committee chairperson at the first committee meeting of each academic year. Committee Chairpersons serve a one year term of office and may be re-elected by the members. There are no term limits to the office of committee chairperson. Provision is made for student representation on the Admissions and Recruitment Committee, the Curriculum Committee, the Educational Policies Committee and the Faculty and Professional Staff Assembly.

Bill Urban

The officers and committee chairpersons of the College's standing committees for academic year 2010-2012 are as follows:

Presiding Officer Yvonne Nathan, EdD, RN
Presiding Officer-Elect Elizabeth Guillaume, DNP, CRNA

Chairs of the College's Standing Committees:

Admissions Committee Joseph Jennas, MA, CRNA
Beth Steinfeld, MS, WHCNP-C
Curriculum Committee Patricia Kizilay, EdD, ARNP-BC, DCNAP
Faculty Development and Program Evaluation Committees Margaret Clifton, MS, RN
Committee on Academic and Professional Qualifications Nancy Giordano, EdD, WHNP
Educational Policies Committee Sheryl Zang, EdD, FNP, CNS
Nominations, Elections and By-Laws Committee Jacqueline Patterson-Johnson, EdD, FNP-C, CDE
Representatives to the Center-wide of the Faculty and Professional Staff of SUNY Downstate Medical Center Yvonne Nathan, EdD, RN
Committee of the Faculty and Professional Staff Yvonne Nathan, EdD
Technology Committee Margaret Clifton, MS,RN