Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions
curve gif
SUNY Downstate Medical Center

Division of Infectious Diseases

Current Fellows

First Year Fellows:

Second Year Fellows:

Third Year Fellow:






Natalie Banniettis, MD – PGY4

e-mail: natalie.banniettis@downstate.edu

Education: Medical school - Sackler School of Medicine, Israel. College - Brooklyn College, CUNY

Residency: Downstate Pediatrics

Research Interests: Seroprevalence of Chlamydia trachomatis in Children (ongoing, w/ Dr. Kohlhoff)

Why I enjoy working at UHB: It's my second home and Dr. Hammerschlag is like my second mother.

« Back to Top



Marie Abdallah, MD – PGY5

e-mail: marie.abdallah@downstate.edu

Education: Lebanese University School of Medicine, Beirut, Lebanon

Residency: Internal Medicine Staten Island University Hospital, Staten Island, New York

Research Interests: Antimicrobial resistance, Transplant Infections

« Back to Top



Aparna Arun, MD – PGY6

Email:aparna.arun@downstate.edu

Education: Medical School – Mahatma Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences, India

Residency: Crozer Chester Medical Center/Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Why I chose SUNY Downstate for my ID training: The diversity that Brooklyn has to offer in terms of patient population and the various pathology of disease seen here makes it a challenging environment to work in.

Research Interests: Chlamydia, HIV

Select Publications:

  • Pediatric Academic Society, Guidelines for the prevention of Perinatal Group B Streptococcal diseases (GBS) Disease: Practices in a Community Hospital Nursery, 2010 PAS Annual Meeting, Publication number 421

« Back to Top



Ada Ene, MD – PGY5

e-mail: ada.ene@downstate.edu

Education: Victor Babes University of Medicine and Pharmacy, Timisoara, Romania

Residency: Internal Medicine, SUNY Downstate Medical Center, Brooklyn, New York

« Back to Top



Judith Flom, MD – PGY4

e-mail: judith.flom@downstate.edu

Education: SUNY Downstate Medical Center

Residency: St. Vincents Medical Center, NYC

« Back to Top



John Harris, MD – PGY4

e-mail: john.harris@downstate.edu

Education: Escuela Latinoamericana de Medicina, Havana

Residency: New York Methodist Hospital, Brooklyn, NYC

« Back to Top



Amabel LaPuebla, MD – PGY4

e-mail: amabel.lapuebla@downstate.edu

Education: University of the Philippines, Philippines

Residency: Harlem Hospital, NYC

« Back to Top



Olawole Olafisoye, MD – PGY5

e-mail: olawole.olafisoye@downstate.edu

Education: University of Ibadan College of Medicine, Ibadan, Nigeria

Residency: SUNY Downstate Medical Center, Brooklyn, New York

« Back to Top



Sharanjeet Thind, MD – PGY4

e-mail: sharanjeet.thind@downstate.edu

Education: St. George's University, Grenada

Residency: Sound Shore Medical Center (NYMC) New Rochelle, NY

« Back to Top