Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions
curve gif

SUNY Downstate Medical Center

Office of Diversity & Inclusion

6th Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Leadership Award

Leadership Award Menu

  • Annual Leadership Award

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. graphic

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr

His call for direct action through non violent civil disobedience has forever shaped American civil rights law and international human rights law.


Nancy L. Zimpher, Chancellor of the State University of New York to Receive Downstate Medical Center 2017 Martin Luther King Jr., Leadership Award


Nancy L. Zimpher
Chancellor of The State University of New York

On January 20th, 2017, from noon to 1 pm, the Office of Diversity and Inclusion will host Downstate's 6th Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Leadership Award Program. The award recognizes individuals and organizations that have a distinguished record in molding consensus to shape solutions to important societal challenges.

The award recipient this year is Nancy L. Zimpher, chancellor of the State University of New York, who will also deliver the program's keynote address. H. Carl McCall, chairman of the SUNY Board of Trustees, will give greetings from the Board of Trustees, and Alexander N. Cartwright, SUNY provost and executive vice chancellor, will give greetings from the SUNY System.

As 12th Chancellor of The State University of New York, Chancellor Zimpher has implemented sweeping reforms that ensure SUNY can provide broad access to higher education while maximizing its impact as an engine of economic revitalization across the state.

Chancellor Zimpher is active in numerous national education organizations, and is a renowned leader in the areas of teacher preparation, urban education, and university-community engagement. In addition to her role at SUNY, she is chair of the Board of Governors of the New York Academy of Sciences and the National Association of System Heads. From 2005–2011 she led the Coalition of Urban Serving Universities, and from 2012–2013 she was chair of CEOs for Cities. As co-founder of StriveTogether, Chancellor Zimpher has been instrumental in creating a national network of innovative partnerships that address challenges across the education pipeline.

During the ceremony, the magazine Insight into Diversity will present Shaundelle Goldsmith with its Visionary Award and Dr. Michael Lucchesi and Dr. Mark Stewart with the magazine's HEED (Higher Education Excellence in Diversity) Health Professions Award.

« Back to Top