photo of ballroom at the Plaza Hotel

David E.I. Pyott

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Allergan

photo of David E.I. Pyott

Corporate Achievement Award

David E.I. Pyott joined Allergan on January 1, 1998. He refocused the company's strategy on specialty pharmaceuticals and medical devices creating leading franchises in ophthalmology, neurosciences, medical dermatology, medical aesthetics, urology and other specialty markets, as well as restructuring Allergan's worldwide operations. Savings from these streamlining programs were reinvested into a major expansion of R&D and sales forces worldwide.

In 2006, Mr. Pyott was bestowed with the honor of Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (CBE) by Her Majesty the Queen in acknowledgment of Mr. Pyott's contribution to British business excellence and management skills in the United States. In 2009 in a Harvard Business Review study of the Best-Performing CEO's in the world, Mr. Pyott was ranked No. 50.

Before joining Allergan, Mr. Pyott served as the Head of the Novartis Nutrition Division and as a member of the Executive Committee of the Switzerland-based Novartis AG. At Novartis and Sandoz, a predecessor company of Novartis, Mr. Pyott worked for 17 years in several positions in strategic planning, marketing and general management in Malaysia, Singapore, Austria, Spain, the United States and Switzerland.

He holds a Diploma in International and European Law from the Europa Institute at the University of Amsterdam, a Master of Arts degree from the University of Edinburgh, and a Master of Business Administration degree from the London Business School.

Mr. Pyott is a member of the Board of Directors of Avery Dennison Corporation and Edwards Lifesciences Corporation. He serves on the Board and the Executive Committee of the Biotechnology Industry Organization and of the California Healthcare Institute, the Directors' Board of The Paul Merage School of Business at the University of California (Irvine). Mr. Pyott also serves as a member of the Board of the Pan-American Ophthalmological Foundation, the International Council of Ophthalmology Foundation, and the Foundation of the American Academy of Ophthalmology Advisory Board.