Find A PhysicianHome  |  Library  |  myDownstate  |  Newsroom  |  A-Z Guide  |  E-mail  |  Contact Us  |  Directions
curve gif

The Robert F. Furchgott Society

Message From The Society President

photo of Henri Tiedge

Henri Tiedge, PhD
President Robert F. Furchgott Society

Dr. Robert Furchgott was awarded the 1998 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, together with Drs. Louis Ignarro and Ferid Murad, for their work on "nitric oxide as a signaling molecule in the cardiovascular system." This was the first discovery of a gas that can act as a biological signal in and between cells. It inspired research around the world and led to significant advances in biomedical research and pharmaceutical development.

In 2005, Dr. Alfred Stracher established the Robert F. Furchgott Society as a tribute to Dr. Furchgott's work and achievements here at SUNY Downstate Medical Center. The Society is dedicated to commemorating Dr. Furchgott's legacy by promoting excellence in research at SUNY Brooklyn. Since its inception, it has made annual awards to postdoctoral basic scientists and clinical fellows in recognition of outstanding research. The Society also supports the School of Graduate Studies by honoring a graduating PhD student for exceptional research achievements.

In spring each year, the Furchgott Society hosts the annual Robert F. Furchgott Visiting Professorship. On this occasion, an eminent scientist is invited to deliver the Robert F. Furchgott lecture. The inaugural Visiting Professor was Dr. Harold Varmus, President of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, in 2007.

Together with the Robert F. Furchgott Center for Neural and Behavioral Science, the Society will proudly continue to honor the memory of a great scientist. We are grateful to all donors and Society members whose invaluable support has been central to furthering our mission.